My shooting pit (1)

I’m new to petanque. I need to practice so I can hold up my end of the game. To help with practice, I have set up a sort of shooting pit in my back yard.

I laid down a big piece of scrap carpet on the ground. (This keeps the ground from being pulverized into dust, and traps the dust.) On top of the carpet are two 2x4s, each about six feet long, in a V shape. This keeps (most of) the boules from scattering all over the back yard.
practice_pit_01

The 2x4s are secured with big nails driven into the ground.
practice_pit_02

Later I moved the carpet forward a bit. The depression behind the carpet traps the boules, so they can be gathered up more easily.

practice_pit_04

In the throwing area (below) you can see a white plastic paint bucket. It can hold 20 leisure boules, so I can throw 20 boules before having to make a retrieval expedition up to the head.  Beneath the white bucket are two larger grey paint buckets, bolted together. They make a platform that is portable and a convenient height.
practice_pit_05


See my other experiments with designs for shooting pits.

Leave a Comment

